



Saturday, August 9, 2008

Hugo Edition

DENVENTION 3 CONGRATULATES THE 2008 HUGO AWARD WINNERS

BEST NOVEL

The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael Chabon

BEST NOVELLA

"All Seated on the Ground" by Connie Willis

BEST NOVELETTE

"The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate" by Ted Chiang

BEST SHORT STORY

"Tideline" by Elizabeth Bear

BEST RELATED BOOK

Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher

BEST DRAMATIC PRESENTATION, LONG FORM

Stardust
written by
Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn
directed by Matthew Vaughn

BEST DRAMATIC PRESENTATION, SHORT FORM

Doctor Who: "Blink" written by Steven Moffat directed by Hettie Macdonald

BEST PROFESSIONAL EDITOR, LONG FORM

David G. Hartwell

BEST PROFESSIONAL EDITOR, SHORT FORM

Gordon Van Gelder



BEST PROFESSIONAL ARTIST

Stephan Martiniere

BEST SEMIPROZINE

Locus
edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten
Gong-Wong & Liza Groen Trombi

BEST FANZINE

File 770 edited by Mike Glyer

BEST FAN WRITER

John Scalzi

BEST FAN ARTIST

Brad Foster

JOHN W. CAMPBELL AWARD FOR BEST NEW SCIENCE FICTION WRITER

Mary Robinette Kowal

0.11

CREDITS

The 2008 Hugo Award was designed by Lee Kuruganti.

2008 Hugo Award Administrators: Mary Kay Kare Jeff Copeland Liz Copeland

2008 Hugo Ceremony: Laurie Mann Gay Ellen Dennett

2008 Hugo Ceremony Program Designed By: Geri Sullivan Laurie Mann

Michael Chabon, author of this year's Best Novel *The Yiddish Policemen's Union*, will be interviewed Sunday evening on National Public Radio's *All Things Considered*. Please see www.npr.com for details.

HOW YOU VOTED

There were 972 final ballots received, of which 895 were valid. Most of the invalid final ballots were electronic ballots with errors in voting, which were corrected by later resubmission by the members—only the last received ballot for each member was counted.

Full reports on the voting statistics can be found online at: www.denvention.org/hugos/08finalresults.pdf



FINISHING ORDER

The nominations for each category are listed below in finishing order. Full nominating and voting statistics can be found online at: www.denvention.org/hugos/08finalresults.pdf

BEST NOVEL

The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael Chabon

The Last Colony by John Scalzi Halting State by Charles Stross Rollback by Robert J. Sawyer Brasyl by Ian McDonald No Award

BEST NOVELLA

"All Seated on the Ground" by Connie Willis

"Recovering Apollo 8"
by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
"The Fountain of Age" by Nancy Kress
"Memorare" by Gene Wolfe
"Stars Seen Through Stone"
by Lucius Shepard
No Award

BEST NOVELETTE

"The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate" by Ted Chiang

"The Cambist and Lord Iron" by Daniel Abraham "Dark Integers" by Greg Egan "Glory" by Greg Egan "Finisterra" by David Moles No Award

BEST SHORT STORY

"Tideline" by Elizabeth Bear

"A Small Room in Koboldtown"
by Michael Swanwick
"Last Contact" by Stephen Baxter
"Who's Afraid of Wolf 359" by Ken MacLeod
"Distant Replay" by Mike Resnick
No Award

Denvention 3 would like to thank everyone who participated in the nominating and voting process for the 2008 Hugo Awards.

Mary Kay Kare 2008 Hugo Awards Administrator

BEST RELATED BOOK

Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher

Breakfast in the Ruins: Science Fiction in the Last Millennium by Barry Malzberg
The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community by Diana Glyer
Emshwiller: Infinity x Two by Luis Ortiz
The Arrival by Shaun Tan

BEST DRAMATIC PRESENTATION, LONG FORM

Stardust

No Award

Heroes (Season 1)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Enchanted
The Golden Compass
No Award

BEST DRAMATIC PRESENTATION, SHORT FORM

Doctor Who "Blink"

Doctor Who

"Human Nature" / "The Family of Blood"
Battlestar Galactica "Razor"
Torchwood "Captain Jack Harkness"
Star Trek: New Voyages
"World Enough and Time"
No Award

BEST PROFESSIONAL EDITOR, LONG FORM

David G. Hartwell

Patrick Nielsen Hayden Beth Meacham Ginjer Buchanan Lou Anders No Award

BEST PROFESSIONAL EDITOR, SHORT FORM

Gordon Van Gelder

Sheila Williams Ellen Datlow Stanley Schmidt Jonathan Strahan No Award

BEST PROFESSIONAL ARTIST

Stephan Martiniere

John Picacio Bob Eggleton Phil Foglio John Harris Shaun Tan No Award

BEST SEMIPROZINE

Locus

Interzone

The New York Review of Science Fiction Ansible Helix

No Award

BEST FANZINE

File 770
PLOKTA
Challenger
Argentus
Drink Tank
No Award

BEST FAN WRITER

John Scalzi
David Langford

Cheryl Morgan Steven H Silver Chris Garcia No Award

BEST FAN ARTIST

Brad Foster

Sue Mason Steve Stiles Teddy Harvia Taral Wayne No Award

JOHN W. CAMPBELL AWARD FOR BEST NEW SCIENCE FICTION WRITER

Mary Robinette Kowal

Scott Lynch
David Louis Edelman
Joe Abercrombie
Jon Armstrong
David Anthony Durham
No Award

Necessity: The Mother of Denvention © 2008 Denvention 3

Kent Bloom, Chairman; Helen Montgomery, Publisher; Sam Lubell, Editor; Gary Blog, Printer Staff: Kate Barnes, Jan van't Ent, Chris Garcia, Cent Gokce, Cathy Green, Danny Low, Howard Tayler